DMAIC is a structured Six Sigma approach to process improvement. The DMAIC approach can be applied in any situation where a process has defined measurable results whether it's manufacturing a specific products such as phones, table, chair etc. or services such as healthcare, designing, or hospitality etc.

DMAIC process consists of 5 stages to improve any existing process: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control.

  • Define the problem & what the customers require.
  • Measure process & operation parameter related to the problem.
  • Analyze data & determine the cause of the problem.
  • Improve the process to remove the causes of the defects.
  • Control the improved process to ensure that the problem does not recur.

or simply:

  • Define: What is important?
  • Measure: How is the company doing?
  • Analyze: What is wrong?
  • Improve: Fix whats wrong?
  • Control: Ensure gains are maintained?

A company wants to develop a new process. Which Six Sigma methodology the company would be implementing?


Customers served! 1

Quality Management Course

FREE! Subscribe to get 52 weekly lessons. Every week you get an email that explains a quality concept, provides you with the study resources, test quizzes, tips and special discounts on our other e-learning courses.

Similar Posts:

January 20, 2022

Quality Circles

December 20, 2021

Inspection Errors

January 21, 2018

Average Outgoing Quality Limit AOQL

November 21, 2021

Failure Mode and Effects Analysis (FMEA)

March 30, 2018

History of Lean

31 Courses on SALE. Join 200,000+ Existing Students.