How to Use the Bridges Transition Model to Ease Change?

  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • How to Use the Bridges Transition Model to Ease Change?

In any organization, change is inevitable. The Bridges Transition Model can be a helpful tool to ease the process of change and ensure that it is successful. The Bridges Transition Model, developed by William Bridges, is a framework that can be used to ease the change. The Bridges Transition Model is a tool that can be used to ease the process of change. It is based on the idea that there are three stages to change:

  1. Ending, Losing and Letting Go
  2. The Neutral Zone
  3. The New Beginning

In the first stage, individuals must come to terms with the fact that change is happening and accept that it is inevitable. This can be a difficult and emotional process. In the second stage, individuals may feel lost or confused as they adjust to the new situation. Finally, in the third stage, individuals can begin to rebuild their lives and create a new sense of identity.

By understanding and using the Bridges Transition Model, organizations can make the transition process easier for everyone involved.

Let's learn about these three stages of transition in more detail.

Stage 1: Ending, Losing, and Letting Go

People often feel uncomfortable when they realize that something they've been familiar with for years will be changed. If we don't recognize and accept that discomfort, they might not embrace the changes that need to happen. For example, changing jobs may make you feel anxious and uncertain about your future. You may also fear how you'll fit into the new environment. These feelings are normal. However, they could cause you to resist change if you don't acknowledge them.

During this stage, people might feel afraid, sad, angry, frustrated, guilty, lonely, or depressed. They may feel like they're losing control over their life. Some people may even think that they're going crazy. If you feel overwhelmed during this stage, try to remember that change is necessary.

By acknowledging your emotions, you can move past them and focus on what needs to be done.

Stage 2: The Neutral Zone

When change occurs, people usually experience a period of uncertainty. During this time, people may feel lost and unsure of themselves. They may question whether the change was necessary, whether they're ready for it, and what the consequences will be.

This is known as the neutral zone. People who have experienced change know this is essential to the transition. When people enter the neutral zone, they should focus on getting through it successfully.

Typical human reaction in this stage is resentment and low energy.

If you find yourself in the neutral zone, take some time to reflect on why you decided to make the change. What were your reasons? How do you feel now? Are you happy with the change? Do you regret making the change?

Remember that change is inevitable. Don't let negative thoughts get in the way.

If you find yourself in the neutral zone, take some time to reflect on why you're feeling this way. Ask yourself questions such as "What do I want?" "Why am I doing this?" "What does success look like?" "What do I need to do now?"

Stage 3: The New Beginnings

Once people get past the neutral zone, they can start building a new life. In this last transition stage, they can look forward to the opportunities that lie ahead. The new beginning is typically marked with excitement, hope, and optimism. This stage aims to help people build a positive outlook.


The Bridges Transition Model helps people prepare for the new beginning. By recognizing the three stages of change, people can use the model to help them cope with change.

Similar Posts:

December 10, 2021

Quality Mission and Policy

December 3, 2021

PEST and PESTEL Analysis

November 17, 2021

Five Stages of Team Development

49 Courses on SALE!